Meeting Your Characters

Have you ever read the acknowledgments at the end of a great book where the author makes some mention of how much they love and care about the characters they created? Almost as if they were real to them, and their triumphs and downfalls were felt in a  personal way?

This is something I never understood until yesterday.

I jolted awake around 4 AM this morning, and not because my cat woke me up to feed him (a normal occurrence) but because I had just had a freakishly detailed dream about the next chapter of my book (not a normal occurrence).

It was like cheating. I didn’t even have to try. The next chapter came so easily, and is my favorite thus far. My characters finally became real to me – they have a purpose, a history that I understand, and a future that I feel privileged to tell.

On to the next chapter I go. 🙂

“You never have to change anything you got up in the middle of the night to write.”

-Saul Bellow

 

Leave a Reply

